this post was submitted on 17 Jul 2025
15 points (94.1% liked)

Chess Beginners

687 readers
1 users here now

A community for beginner's playing chess.

Rules

This is a safe space for chess beginners, this includes your opponent, be respectful. Even if your opponent is not hanging around here

see also:

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
 

If the black knight can't move because it would put himself in check can the white king take the queen? Or would putting the king in D1 or D3 be an illegal move?

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] themeatbridge@lemmy.world 24 points 3 weeks ago

No. You cannot legally put the king into check, even if the piece that targets the king is pinned. Think about it as though you could capture kings. So if you take the Queen, the knight takes the king. Yes, that puts their own king in check, but they've already won by taking your king.